

Georgia-Carolina Assocation of Neonatal Nurses

Issue 5 Newsletter May/2013

We will announce the winner of the GACAANN scholarship for 2013 at the June 3rd meeting. We are looking for interested parties who would like to read and vote on the submissions. Please contact Barbara by email at cweaver@pstel.net if interested.

Chapter membership dues: JANUARY 1-please renew!

\$30/year \$50/Two years \$79/Three years Mail to: Jane Russell Secretary GACAANN 426 Dorothy Court Warner Robins, GA 31088 www.gacaann.com

Save the date!
Next GACAANN meeting:
June 3
1100-1400
3064 Washington Road
Augusta, GA 30907

GACAANN Nursing Scholarship

The GACAANN Nursing
Scholarship fund is accepting
donations to aid current nursing
students in continuing their
educational goals. The scholarship
application process will open on
April 3rd at the South Georgia
Medical Center Meeting. Please
mail all donations to this worthy
fund paid to GACAAANN to our
secretary:

Jane Russell Secretary GACAANN 426 Dorothy Court Warner Robins, GA 31088

Happy Memorial Day

NANN's 29th Annual Educational Conference

Innovations in Neonatal Care
October 2-5, 2013
Nashville Convention Centre and Nashville
Renaissance Hotel
Nashville, TN



GACAANN was again invited and went to speak for the Houston area National Association of Neonatal Nurses group-HAANN this month

Several GACAANN members NICU's submitted what they did for International Kangaroo Care Day including cakes and cupcakes, prizes, picture taking, skits and educational offerings to increase awareness.

GACAANN Community Efforts

All over Georgia the March for Babies campaigns were held with GACAAN members marching from Atlanta, Macon, Augusta, Savannah, Albany, Columbia and Valdosta! Great effort! Great job!

GACAANN Atlanta members supported Nursing drive and exposition with hospitals from all over Georgia showing what they had to offer. Our chapter had members at a table near the Children's Hospitals!

Current officers and their emails:

President: Barbara Smith Weaver <u>cweaver@pstel.net</u> President Elect: Tommie Burgin <u>Tommieb97@gmail.com</u>

Secretary: Lisa Robinson <u>lisarobinson@hotmail.com</u>

Treasurer: Jane Russell dj russell@cox.net